Skip to content

Concrete Faces

March 6, 2010

On my way to work this morning I noticed this little piece of public art beside the underpass. I’m not sure how long it’s been there, but I’m pretty certain I would’ve noticed it before, so perhaps it’s new.

It’s not the first time I’ve stumbled across an unexpected and unlabelled bit of art, and they always make me curious.

Is it some government-sponsored program, or are they random acts of art? Guerrilla Art? I like to think that’s the case, because the world could use more people attacking our urban areas with these creative and thought-provoking pieces.

Sometimes these pieces make me sad or angry, or, as in this case, they make me smile. No matter what effect they have, they always bring me out of my head and into my heart, which is where so much of our creativity flows. I love the little boost of inspiration they spark in me; I’m never more glad to be alive than when I’m in a creative head-space.

Kudos to whoever is responsible. We’re all richer for their efforts.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

