Skip to content

Creativity As Spirituality

January 11, 2009

This week in my 52 Blessings project I posted a photo I took of one of my favourite pieces of personal art. I’m not good with my hands (which is why photography is my main means of visual expression) but I’m in love with this pagan piece.

No matter how insane life gets creativity seems to bring a measure of balance and joy to existence. I don’t see art as a luxury, I see it as a necessity. No one should be deprived of it any more than they should be deprived of food or water. It doesn’t matter if it’s great art, or just a little clumsy craft work, the act of creating something feeds our soul and puts us in hamony with The Universe.

Anyone who has lost time and become entranced while creating something will know what I mean. You enter an altered state of consciousness which seems to open you to thoughts and impressions that you would likely miss during the normal course of a day. It’s meditation, it’s prayer; it can be dark and frightening, or fun and playful.

No matter what your circumstances are I believe creativity can be a reason for living.

So, who cares if you aren’t the next Michelangelo or Da Vinci…get out there and let the Universe flow. Create – it’s the best thing you can do for yourself. Don’t take my word for it; try it yourself. You’ll see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

