Skip to content

So, I’m Going To Be A Spy…

November 22, 2008

I’m very excited!! R. has arranged for delivery of a Bower Angle-scope for my baby. Now I can get candid photos without being so obvious as to spoil the moment.

I adore using an SLR camera but unfortunately you just aren’t as inconspicious as you are wih a small point and shoot. I used to be able to sneak in photos of unusual things (and people!), especially at places like out-door markets, without people being bothered. Now, every time I pull out my Rebel people take note.

It’s frustrating.

So, when I saw Photojojo was selling a “super-spy lens” I was intrigued. After reading a few reviews of the Bower Angle-Scope on various sites I was impressed enough to really want it. It was reasonably priced, and I’ve just received a nice little bursary at college, so I decided it would be a good investment.

I love Photojojo, they’re fun, creative and educational. I always find their newsletter intriguing and I’ve picked up a lot of good tips from them. Im going to be building myself a light-box during my Christmas break based on some DIY sites they recommended. They’re non-stuffy and geared towards fun, perfect for those of us who are a bit intimidated by more professional-based sites.

R. gets a little impatient with me when I miss a shot because of selfconsciousness, and I get pretty annoyed with myself as well. I think this lens will really be a boon when faced with those tricky shooting situations.

The other obvious benefit to the angle-scope is the abilty to turn the lens to get a shot at any angle as it rotates 365 degrees. Very handy for those awkward shots from viewpoints or when wanting to take architectural shots of tall buildings. The flexibility has to be a useful thing, I’m suprised I haven’t heard more about this type of tool; you’d think any professional photographer would find them useful. I’ll have to see if I can find out more about that.

At any rate, I should have the scope next weekend. And, since all my high-pressure school stuff ends this week, I’m hoping I’ll actually have time to get out and try it on a unsuspecting crowd.

And as for my camera-shy family…watch out kin-folk, you’re on candid camera this Christmas!! ::grin::

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2008 5:19 pm

    Thanks for the kind words, Cindi! I hope you love your new Spy Lens!

    Amit
    (Founder, Photojojo)

  2. cindiaugustine permalink*
    November 24, 2008 6:40 pm

    You’re welcome, when it comes to photography sites Photojojo drives the big bus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

