Skip to content

Living In Interesting Times…

May 11, 2008

So, I was surfing and came across an optometry office that offers Vision Therapy as one of their services.

Vision Therapy is the treatment of vision issues that can impair a person’s ability to read, develop good hand-eye coordination, etc…

Generally the children receiving these services, have physical, mental or learning challenges such as ADD or Dyslexia.

I began to ponder this as a possible career consideration as I just know I’m going to miss the contact with special needs children that has been such a huge part of my life.

Not being one to leave any stone unturned, any curiousity unsatisfied, I emailed the optometrist in charge, asking her for some information on Vision Therapy…

Not 24 hours later I received a lovely reply, and the offer of a job interview…

Hmmm…Life certainly is – as Spock would say – fascinating.

I guess I should see where this might lead…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dominick M. Maino, OD, MEd, FAAO, FCOVD-A permalink
    May 12, 2008 11:31 am

    As an optometrist who teaches vision therapy as well as utilizes it in his office for his patients….I think you’ll love it! Go to http://www.covd.org for more information and for the latest research concerning childrens’ vision go to http://www.MainosMemos.blogspot.com.

    Dominick M. Maino, OD, MEd, FAAO, FCOVD-A
    Professor of Pediatrics/Binocular Vision Illinois College of Optometry

  2. Dominick M. Maino, OD, MEd, FAAO, FCOVD-A permalink
    May 12, 2008 11:33 am

    I forgot to mention…I also do some photography and arts/music/etc. Go to http://www.dmPhotoArt.blogspot.com to see some of my work and what’s happening in the art scene in Chicago.

Leave a Reply

